Six YRC Worldwide drivers named to America’s Road Team


The American Trucking Associations (ATA) today announced that it selected two Yellow Transportation drivers and four Roadway drivers to serve as America’s Road Team Captains.

For the next two years, Yellow Transportation drivers Rich Ewing and Mark Hassemer and Roadway drivers Jim Gallagher, Keith Johnson, Greg Nauertz and Ron VanBibber will serve alongside twelve drivers from other transportation providers as members of America’s Road Team, a group of professional drivers with superior safety records.

America’s Road Team members participate in speaking engagements, media events and drivers’ education classes on behalf of the industry. These professional drivers will address transportation issues and answer questions about the trucking industry and its commitment to highway safety. The ATA created America’s Road Team in 1986 to represent the trucking industry; Volvo Trucks North America sponsors the program.

“We are extremely proud of all our drivers who will represent America’s Road Team for 2009–2010,” said Mike Smid, YRC National Transportation president. “We are honored to have them represent our company and America’s Road Team. They have joined an elite group of dedicated drivers who represent our commitment to safety and professionalism.”

These six drivers with 113 combined years of driving experience were selected from a group of 36 finalists. They competed over several days before a panel of judges from the trucking industry. The competition tested their knowledge of trucking industry safety issues, communications skills and interview abilities. The finalists’ community service activities were also considered.

Road Team Captains share safe-driving tips and offer motorists advice on how to safely share the road with commercial vehicles. They may also have the opportunity to speak on trucking and safety concerns at the state and federal government levels.

This new America’s Road Team will serve from January 2009 through December 2010.

YRC Worldwide Drivers Who Qualified and Competed

Julian Alexander Roadway Mark Hassemer Yellow Transportation
Roger Bast Yellow Transportation Keith Johnson Roadway
Ron Coles USF Reddaway Greg Nauertz Roadway
Rich Ewing Yellow Transportation Don Robinson Roadway
Jim Gallagher Roadway Al Russell Roadway
Jim Galloway Yellow Transportation Ron VanBibber Roadway

Recent News